Mymikhaela’s Weblog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Coxsackie Virus in School

on March 7, 2010

What’s with the coxsackie virus?

A friend of mine texted me that one child in his daughter’s school in Alabang came down with Coxsackie virus and described it as having sores in the mouth with fever and rashes. He refused to allow his daughter to go to school for 2 days.

I’ m called to school one afternoon to bring home my son who is running a fever with headache and some stomach discomfort. I bring him to a pediatrician and she tells him to rest.

A day after my daughter develops a fever as well and refuses to eat and drink. I try giving her yoghurt and pedialyte, since I ‘m afraid she’ll dehydrate if she keeps that up.

My pediatrician tells me it’s herpangina- caused by Type A coxsackie virus. It’s a virus that’s common among children age 1 to 4.

There’s no medicine for it and antibiotics are useless since it’s a viral infection. My toddler had a big sore on her throat. It was a wonder that she wasn’t getting a high fever.

The best way I ‘m told to prevent Herpangina is to keep WASHING HANDS. A tough thing for me to implement on a 2 year old who still likes putting things into her mouth.

The next day I try to look for an old Chinese drugstore remedy they call watermelon frost. It’s actually good for canker sores and mouth ulcers.

Unfortunately, the Beijing Ton Ren Tang drugstore near our place is closed. My father-in-law had to go downtown to get me a bottle spray.

Watermelon Frost contains: Watermelon Fruit Extract, Fritillaria Bulb, Belamcanda Chinensis Rhizome, Sophora Root, Indigo Puverata Levis, Menthol, Licorice Root.

Watermelon frost is used for treating sore and/or swollen throat, hoarse voice, and ulcers of the mouth, tongue and gums. Applicable in acute and chronic pharyngitis, tonsillitis, inflammation of the oral cavity, and painful and swollen gums.

I had to get 2 people to help hold her down, get some the grayish powder into a straw ( I cut a red straw in half for this purpose) and blew it into her throat.

We did this twice a day, and it must have relieved some of her pain because a few hours later, she was asking for a drink of water and other liquids.

I’m not a very big fan of Chinese medicine, but this is one application wherein I find where I find that the wonders of Western medicine are no use.

After my daughter’s bout with the virus, I find out from my friend that there were also kids affected by the virus in a progressive preschool. One of the students actually ended up being hospitalized for dehydration. The virus even spread as far as the grade school part of the school.

NOTE: Please be very careful where you buy your Watermelon Frost. Try to buy at more reputable stores. There a lot of fakes nowadays.

Leave a Reply

